I’m Alive

Published May 17, 2016 by Incidental Scribe

Hello readers,

I apologize immensely for not writing in a coons age, but man have I been busy living life. So in my attempt to dedicate myself to getting back into my writing projects I’m going to kick things off with an update of what I’ve been doing. So without further ado here is what the scribe has been up to.

One of the most important things I have done is finished my 18 months therapy program. For those of you who have read all of my posts you will remember that I was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder in November of 2014. So I am proud to say that I stuck with the mentalization based therapy and although there is no “cure” I am off all anxiety and depression medications. I am also able to control myself better when derailed by emotion. I am going to miss the people I was in the group with. Yet I really do feel like I am a stronger person then I was going into this. I want to thank my Dr, my councilors and my friends and family for helping get through this and supporting me as I became the woman I wanted to be.

With the help from the therapy program I found the courage to enroll in a college prep program. I upgraded my math, chemistry, biology and physics marks. Sometimes it was frustrating as hell and I wanted to throw in the towel, but I stuck with it and got great marks too. Marks high enough for me to not only apply, but to be accepted for the biotechnology course at St Lawrence College. It’s a heavy science program that before I never would have imagined I’d get in, so I was ecstatic when I received my acceptance letter.

But now I needed way more money for tution and living expenses so I got a second job. I’m still DJing and hosting karaoke which I love. The days I’m not doing that I’m a sandwich artist at
Subway.  It is interesting work and I’m learning a lot about food prep and the fast food industry. I do enjoy the job for the most part and it keeps me extremely busy.

The only downside is that OSAP might not give me a student loan and the banks have all ready said no due to some bad finsncial issues 4 years ago. I have a contingency plan though, I’ll just work both jobs and then apply again next year. Hopefully the free tution program Ontario is trying to create will be running then and I won’t have to worry about loans. I am too happy with myself that I have gotten this far to allow a bump in the road to bring me down.

In my down time I’ve been trying to get my fishing gear ready for bass fishing season, still play video games, read and do crafty things. Oh and I take care of my dog! My parents gave Lister my 11 year old Boston Terrier back to me finally. So the boyfriend and I have a happy furry face to greet us around the apartment again. That’s my life these days in a nutshell.

So I hope to post some more creative pieces for you soon and thank you for waiting for my return so patiently. Hugs and love to all.

~ The Incidental Scribe

image

Lister

Leave a Reply

